I’ve counted.. it’s been almost 3 weeks since I last logged in here. Yikes!

Over the past month we went on our long awaited family vacation to the Big Island of Hawaii (yes, Hurricane Iselle hit on our second day there – our rental house was heavily damaged and the area where we were, South Hilo and Pune, was pretty devastated.

Luckily we were able to move to the Kona side of the island where there was not even a drop of rain… we got lucky!)

It turned out to be a wonderful vacation for our family of 4. We snorkeled with the amazing fish, climbed through some amazing lava tubes, visited the remote green sands beach (only one of 2 in the world!) and watched the sunset from Mauna Kea.  The volcano put on a nice glow show under the supermoon and no visit to Kona is complete without a trip to a genuine organic Kona Coffee farm (Mountain Thunder was impressive!)

turtle-2

me 5-2

DCIM100GOPRO

20140810_120928

20140813_084650

One thing that really inspired me was the coffee farm. All Kona Farms are “small businesses”… basically family type farms with a small number of employees . I was taken back by their roasting room and packaging room. All hand done and in no more of a space than I have here in my studio! And yet they ship their heirloom coffee all over the world! What an inspiration to me. I may be a small one woman run show, but I am mighty – I can grow infinitely!!

So with that in mind, I am introducing a new product to my mixed media line!

Starting this fall I will be selling my wall art. Most are mixed media on wood panels and are ready to hang or stand! all different themes and I will welcome custom orders (at least for now). These are some I started… a few shown here are not going to be for sale , but I wanted to share a photo of my worktable with some examples of what you might see!

aug20worktablea

 

I’m excited to start this new addition to my shop. I will keep you updated on when these will start to appear on my etsy shop and around town.

Hope you are all having a creative month… I hope to get back on track here and start posting regularly again!

