#5

Food is a craft too. When food is made with lots of thought, heart and grateful hands, it really shows through.

Some of my favorite gifts to give are yummy treats and I have come across a few recipes online that are my staples.

This first one has been lovingly coined as “Crack Candy” by my old neighborhood. If it is made just right, it is the most addicting thing on the planet. (from my experience).

crackcandy

Saltine Toffee Cookies
from Allrecipes.com
click on photo for recipe link

***

This next one is my go to Apple Pie… thank you Grandma Ople

pie

Grandma Ople’s Apple Pie
from Allrecipes.com
click on photo for link to recipe

***

And my new favorite is one from a blog I recently discovered. And so far every recipe I’ve tried has been spot on and yummy!!!

banana1

Our Best Banana Nut Bread
by Simply Made Kitchen and Crafts

And here’s how mine turned out last night!

I made a few changes:

I didn’t use any nuts (since I don’t know if anyone I’m serving has nut allergies)

and I used 1/3 cup of organic unsalted sweet butter instead of margarine and left out the wheat germ.

I also made mine into 3 mini loaves – decreased the temp to 320 and checked it starting 30 min. I think it took a total of 40 min.

20131210_202512

These loaves didn’t even last 1 day. I made them at 8:30pm last night and they were gone at breakfast!

*******

#6 So once these beauties are baked (or non baked) up, you need pretty packaging…

So I found some of these ideas that are simple yet very pretty!!

loaf

not sure who’s original photo this is. I got it on pinterest.
click for link to pin

***

cakeslices

chinese website
by duitang.com
click for link to blog

***

stamped

Heart covered Wax Paper
by Martha Stewart
click for link to directions

***

so this winter when you are snowed in (and also for my friends who are in the southern hemisphere and need a little sweet with your iced tea)  I hope you will try one of these recipes and also make a little extra for a friend!

