20131010_084616

A few weeks ago I was browsing though one of my favorite artist’s blog (Christy Tomlinson) and was so inspired by her flower in vase painting, I just had to make a version of my own.

I started the background a week or so ago but didn’t really have time to finish… until yesterday ๐Ÿ™‚ I am so very happy with how it turned out!

20131010_084634

**

20131010_084627

 

I love working on artboard (or wood board) because it allows you to layer on a good bit of texture and weight. You can press hard on the surface without it giving in the back as it does on stretched canvas. I usually try to stock up on the boards when they go on sale at Blicks.

20131010_084649

Supplies I used are wood board, gesso, mod podge, golden matte medium, acrylic paints, inks, book pages, metal findings, scrapbook paper, stencil, golden fiber paste,ink, stamps, india ink pen, strong glue – to attach the flowers, washi tape, the wording is a die cut card by Dear Lizzy &… hmmm… there might be more but I can’t remember.

I can’t wait to start a new piece (this time more of my personal style)… but probably will have to wait til tomorrow seeing that I am catching up on other parts of my life today. It has to be done.

 

