Yesterday morning started off with a range of emotions… nervousness, excitement, anxiety, grumpy…

It was the first day of school for my girls. My older one was off to HS and my younger one off to 5th grade.

And as custom for me, I used the day as a time to reevaluate myself and make some new (and renew some) “resolutions” for the year.

A couple things crossed my mind. I am grateful for where I am. I am lucky for where I landed. And I am satisfied with what i own.

Those who know me and my intimate life know I have struggled a lot these past few years.  We had to reevaluate what was important to us and how much we are willing to change to be “happy”.  I won’t get into it here… but it is sufficient to say we really have a different view on what happiness really is and what quality of life means to our family.

A few days ago my friend, Celia, sent me one of those emails that people forward to the next friend and so on. Usually I read over them quickly and then move on. I hardly ever forward (just as a general rule since I am fearful of viruses and such). But this particular message is applicable to me right now and I wanted to share it with you.

20130903_201150

 

The Last Wishes of Alexander the Great! 

On his death bed Alexander summoned his generals and told them his 
three ultimate wishes. 

1. The best doctors should carry his coffin; 

2. The wealth he had accumulated (money, gold, precious stones) should 
be scattered along the way to his burial, and 

3. His hands should be left hanging outside the coffin for all to see. 
Surprised by these unusual requests, one of his generals asked 
Alexander to explain. 
Here is what he said : – 

1. I want the best doctors to carry my coffin to demonstrate that in 
the face of death, even the best doctors in the world have no power to 
heal ; 

2. I want the road to be covered with my treasure so that everybody 
sees that the wealth acquired on earth, stays on earth… 

3. I want my hands to swing in the wind so that people understand that we come to this world empty handed and we leave empty handed after the 
most precious treasure of all is exhausted – Time. 

So my #1 new school year resolution is not to spend so much time and energy on buying and filling my life with “things” but spend my time and energy building up my relationships~ family, husband, children, friends (both new and old) and community. Taking the extra moment to think, “will what I say or do right now encourage this person?”

Of course I will forget this time and time again, but if I am more conscious today of my actions and words i’m sure to be a better friend, mother, wife and citizen than I was the day before.

With that, I wish you a really really great day. And if your day happens to be a difficult one, I wish you a lot of strength.

PS. The canvas shown above is a work in progress. The background layers have been quite meditative for me since each emotion i was feeling warranted a new color or texture.  (I love making backgrounds… i think I have 3x as many backgrounds made as actual finished pieces!) I hope to share the finished artwork soon 🙂

 

 

