This year I wanted to try making pumpkin pie using real pumpkins. I’ve always wanted to try it and while shopping a couple weeks ago I found sugar pumpkins! (AKA Pie pumpkins).

After an hour and half in the oven (halve the pumpkin, scoop out the guts and bake in oven cut side down at 400 degrees) the skin pulled right off a perfectly soft pumpkin!

I used a recipe for custard pumpkin pie and while it did turn out just as described in the recipe, I found out that my family doesn’t really love pumpkin pie… jokes on me LOL.

So I started looking for other pumpkin recipes. Here’s one for the perfect PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP muffins! This one’s a winner. It’s from food network… I made a few changes from the original recipe.

One Pie pumpkin makes two batches (approx).

(Ingredients:)

Cooking spray
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs
15-ounce can pumpkin (not pie filling)
1/2 cup lowfat vanilla yogurt
1/4 cup melted light butter or margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate morsels/chips (I reduced to 1/3 cup choc chips)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Coat 18 regular size muffin tins with cooking spray. (Or use paper cups – no spray).
In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
In a mixing bowl, beat together the brown sugar and eggs until blended. Beat in the pumpkin, yogurt, melted butter and vanilla until smooth and creamy. Add the flour mixture and beat until just blended (don’t overbeat). Fold in the chocolate morsels.
Spoon the batter into cups. (3/4 full)
Bake 20 minutes, until a wooden pick comes out clean.
Cool muffins, in pans, on a wire racks. Devour.

***

So you ask, why the SQUASH in the title?

For this batch of muffins I went running to the store for  another pumpkin and found they were all out. Ugh. So I turned to the butternut squash. And followed the same directions. Perfectly delicious muffins. Can’t even tell the difference in taste!
I hope you enjoy!!

