Last week my friend Kathy sent me a jelly roll of fabric for my birthday (among several other goodies … hee hee) and so today I decided to make this market tote bag with it! I had never used a jelly roll before so I looked up a few ideas… there are things so cool like jelly roll quilts (where you can make a full quilt in no time at all) and pillow cases/throw pillows.

my roll had 20 pieces (not the full 40) so I didn’t think I could make a full quilt out of it… so I opted for a smaller project. This market tote is lined with duck canvas for added strength and the straps are also made with the canvas inside the quilting cotton.

The jelly roll strips being sewn together…

 

The finished Market Tote!

I love how it turned out and I am planning on giving it as a bday gift very soon for a someone who really loves going to the farmer’s market in Dupont Circle in DC 😉

 

For business news… I finished all my pieces for the new store in AZ and will be shipping everything out to them by early next week! YEA! Ahead of schedule… I need to enjoy this as it doesn’t happen very often!

 

