So the first thing I did after setting up my studio here in our dining room (that’s right eating in here – at least not formal!) was to sign up for the Christy Tomlinson She Art Workshop. I’s a 3 wk course that is open for 1 year and I am already having so much fun with it.

For my first project, I made a page in a journal that I am sharing with Stacie. I do a page and mail it to her and she does one for me… back and forth the book will journey! I want to post a pic here… but I need to ask her if that’s ok first! Also, I don’t want to reveal my page until she actually gets it in the mail. So perhaps an update will be  posted soon 🙂

The next set of 3 girls I started on chipboard. I hope they turn out so i can send them to my friends. If not, I will start over… but for now here’s my progress. Just the bases..

.

One thing I found hard to purchase here in Plymouth is patterned tissue papers. I think I was spoiled in MD being able to take my pick of craft stores that carry everything from Tim Holtz and 7 Gypsies to DCWV and American Crafts. So far I have not been able to find my store of choice. So for now I am at the mercy of internet buying and UPS delivery.

Anyway, going back to tissue – the workshop I am taking makes use of a lot of tissue for backgrounds. And I want to use it too! So I did order a couple packs… but I am impatient. So I decided to see if I can make something on my own in the meanwhile. I had a pack of ivory mulberry wrapping paper and I laid it out and stamped images all over it with Archival ink. I think it turned out pretty nice. The real test will be when I lay it down on wood or canvas… or something else. Either way, so far I am happy with the results! I might start stamping all my mulberry paper even to wrap gifts and more!

So that’s it for now. I think I am going to go upgrade my cell phone today. Since moving here, I am not getting good connectivity when the rest of my family is… I can only attribute it to the actual handset… and as luck would have it… I am eligible for an upgrade! (somehow this is too easy…)

See you in a bit!

PS. I just previewed this… and I’m not sure why my pics are coming in so stout… hmmmm… research time.

